And the results are…!

 

I’ve come to the realization that people do respond more positively to those of us who are more aesthetically pleasing and confident. Today was the last day of the experiment and I had more of a positive result than when I had no makeup or heels on.

Today I got all dressed up and went to the mall to ask for extra free samples. I went to a candy counter that had free samples and grabbed a piece in front of the girl trying to give the samples away. I gave my best “this is delicious” face (even though it really wasn’t my favorite flavor) and asked if I could try a different flavor. She just smiled back and said “Sure”. When I was at the candy counter without makeup I was simply told that it was one per customer and now it was “sure”, I was actually starting to get mad at this point. I went to a little Chinese restaurant that had a guy handing out kung pao chicken samples. I took a sample and this time I didn’t even have to ask for an extra since the guy just offered me an extra piece! He even gave me a little wink.

I went  around asking for extra samples of sausage, extra lipstick samples from a beauty store and extra samples of chocolates. I was only turned down once, which is completely different from last week! The whole time I was angry and probably looked a little depressed and yet people were still willing to give me extra samples. Last time I tried my best to be as friendly and confident as possible and was rejected every time! This time I was rejected once.

It is quite clear to me that everyone is not treated equally, but those that take better care of their appearances will get more out of others!

Now, this might only be true for me since this was done with only one test subject and I can’t really speak for the experiences for others, but for me it became official that I need to take better care of myself and do what is possible to make myself feel comfortable and confident in my own skin.

This experiment made me realize that I do want to have surgery… I need to feel better about myself and I truly believe that this is the right move for me now.

-K

About justsacked

I need to vent and opening this blog is my first step. I am a young professional and am currently in the process of "changing careers". It wasn't exactly planned to make this change, but it seems like my only alternative.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons, surgery. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to And the results are…!

  1. Your experiment is rather fascinating and oddly something I conducted on a smaller scale for myself. The results are the same, however i believe after reading your final conclusion about surgery, i believe that you overlooked a result.

    Your final say in this post is that you want to be comfortable and confident in your own skin, and so the surgery is a good move… However, (I am biased towards non surgical modification mind you) I urge you to reconsider. You mentioned that people responded better when you dressed up and took care of your experience… do you think this is perhaps because you were thinking of yourself and your look in the context of the experiment rather than in a regular social context?

    Pardon, I’m not being very Direct. You want to feel comfortable in your own skin, why is surgery your answer? You got overwhelming positive results just by taking care of your look. Perhaps thats all you needed to do, take a little better care of yourself, and how you look when you leave your home. Is surgery going to enhance those results? not likely. It is possible to be confident in your own skin without changing any part of yourself.

    Try this, perform another kind of experiment. Take care of yourself, take care of your look for a certain time, a month say, and take note of how you feel about yourself at the beginning, middle, and end. If people respond better to someone who takes care of themselves, then taking care of yourself should make YOU respond to youself by feeling comfortable in your own body and skin.

    My thoughts… take them or trash them.

    Unstable

    • justsacked says:

      Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on my post. You bring up a valid point about my results, but I went into this experiment taking into consideration the social context of my presentation. My dolled up state is what I usually present to the world, but this time I payed more attention to the interaction I received when I was wearing very little makeup and when I did have makeup. To be honest I felt more comfortable and confident in my “natural state” than in the dolled up state, but people still reacted more positively to my painted facade. Don’t get me wrong, I truly appreciate your comment and it definitely made me rethink my conclusion, but I think I’ve always thought I needed this surgery from the comments I had received growing up. I think now this experiment made me get a little more courage in my actions. Thanks again, I truly appreciate your post.

  2. I don’t think it will make you feel better about yourself, and it definitely won’t make you feel better about the way other people act. This experiment you did will be in the back of your mind now, either way, more than likely only adding to your already jaded attitude towards others. And plastic surgery, for the most part, looks fake. Like a toupee, you can almost always tell. But what do I know? I’m just a writer. Bonne chance.

  3. spamfred says:

    I think you pretty much couldn’t lose in this experiment – great idea btw. I agree with the above about confidence, people react differently to confident people.

    However, it is also about PMA (Linford Cristie) – positive mental attitude in case you’re wondering. Essentially the experiment was a self fulfilling prophecy because you expected to receive a negative reaction without the make-up. Therefore, consciously or unconsciously, you would have given off a more negative vibe.

    For some people, unfortunately, life is like this and they are really judged for their appearance but I do not believe you are one of them.

  4. Spider42 says:

    There is very little doubt or error in what you are saying and your conclusion, however with certain caveats.
    Firstly, while people are more prone and inclined to pander to and be nicer to those they find appealing or give the impression of being “better”, usually in the looks department – these things tend to also only go so far.
    Secondly, surgery is not something I am flatly against if there is justifiable reason such as a clear flaw that is unquestionably more of a hinderance than simply an aesthetic choice or unmanageable obesity or something like that. In my mind it is primarily a life-saving tool and lesser surgeries are for making our lives better.

    Let me say as someone who was overweight for the vast majority of my life, I found a way to adapt to it and grow as a person through my experiences as someone who did not get things easily because I was not visually pleasing and in the long run I think I am actually far more comfortable in my own skin – both if I am healthy or even if I have some extra weight on me like before – than most of the people I know who have been thin and fit their whole lives.
    They find themselves always conscious and painfully so as they age because their greatest strength is now turning against them.

    If you want to get surgery, by all means its you body and your choice. However I would just say that if you think about it – all it took was some make-up and people changed their attitude so its clearly not something that only surgery can resolve like being properly overweight or having a bigger nose than Streisand.

    And as far as people telling you that you need it to improve something about how you look… well I don’t know you or how you look but I would reiterate the line before this and just say that if you spend your time worried about and influenced enough by others that you change yourself… well in the long run that doesn’t bode well.

    Let me just stop my lecturing (sorry about that!) with this line I love:

    “The reward for conformity is that everyone loves you except yourself.”
    – Rita Mae Brown

    (and btw, thanks for visiting my blog, always nice to see a new face)

    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

