So far so good!

 

It was amazing! Today was pamphlet handing out day. I chose to handout fliers from a different community theater to bring some awareness to the arts and this time I was all dolled up again. I was wearing fitted grey jeans with a black t-shirt and small black heels. I had with me 50 fliers and from the disaster that was my last attempt to handout fliers I was trembling!

I thought people were going to ignore me again. I still remember how I was blatantly ignored and pushed aside last Tuesday. It made me question myself, so when I saw the first person coming towards me I just stuck out my hand and looked straight at the floor. I must have looked like an idiot, the gentleman definitely gave me a little laugh and I looked up to see him snatch the flier and walk away. It was awkward, but I felt so relieved that he took the flier.

After that I gathered more courage and smiled to any passerby. As for the results…I managed to hand out 43 out of the 50 fliers! I must admit that I felt great! I then went straight to the coffee shop across the street from where I was handing out the fliers and I the 2nd person if I could cut the line…a week ago I would have been terrified, but I felt so good that I just went for it. The woman who was standing there was startled at first, but then she smiled and let me go first!

I went home feeling great, but then I realized this is completely different from when I have no makeup. I stopped and realized…people do react differently to how a person looks.

Lets see how asking for free things will go tomorrow.

-K

About justsacked

I need to vent and opening this blog is my first step. I am a young professional and am currently in the process of "changing careers". It wasn't exactly planned to make this change, but it seems like my only alternative.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

