Finally the first makeup day!

 

I apologize for being M.I.A. for a couple of days, but after my treatment on the previous test date I really lost all of my confidence. I felt that I couldn’t continue the next step of the test without regaining the confidence I had before the first day of casual day. So I took two days again to pamper myself and get myself motivated to appear in public. I had to find a way to piece my ego back together. Now usually a big ego would be a bad thing, but for what I am doing I think I should have a little bit of an ego to walk up to total strangers and ask for free stuff. So I found this site that stated that if you take some time in the morning to remind yourself why you are so awesome and repeat it to yourself in the mirror you will get a little confidence boost.

I’m not gonna lie, I felt extremely ridiculous at first telling myself how wonderful I am. However, I kept repeating things throughout the day and it really did make me feel a little more empowered… That thought did give me a little giggle. I was my own cheerleader and it was actually working. I again worked on my health physically and mentally and thought that today would be the perfect test day to wear makeup.

To start of the day I did everything the same as the first test date. I ate the same breakfast of sausage with eggs and started to get ready the same way. The only difference was that I started to apply makeup.  I tried to wear outfits that were similar to the ones in the past so I wore a black tank with fitted jeans. I did cheat a little and decided to wear grey oxfords with a slight heel to give me more height. I figured it was all part of aesthetics so it would go well with my theory that people will react more positively towards me if I am perceived to be beautiful.

For the makeup I applied foundation with a little blush. Then I had read online that a navy blue eyeliner instead of a black will help a brown eye stand out so I tried it and my eyes did look more vibrant. Then I curled my eyelashes and added black mascara. I added a little color to my eye brows (dark brown) and a peony lipstick. This time I also curled my dark brown hair to give it a loose beach wave feel to it.

Enough of the prepping, I bet you are wondering how my day’s interactions went. Well… it was fabulous! I decided to do the test the same way I did Last Monday. I decided to skip a line at a coffee shop. I didn’t go to the same places this time to avoid being recognized, but I did try to go to places that were similar in vibe. So I went to another famous little coffee shop and again to whoever was 6th in line. I walked up to that person and asked if I could cut, I expected to have to explain myself like last time, but this time I was simply told to go ahead. Now I didn’t know if it was because this time it was a woman or if it was because I was all dolled up so I decided to go to another shop and ask the 3rd person in that line. This time it was a teenage boy and he gladly stepped back to give me my spot. I brushed it off thinking it was simply because I had been lucky enough to catch nice people.

I left for a book store. I was going to carry the same amount of books and “accidentally” drop them when people walked by. I did this ten times and out of the ten drops I was helped 9 times. Now one time it was a worker so I don’t think that counts, but I realized that I had a much higher success rat with makeup on.

Now I can’t wait to see what happens tomorrow!

-K

About justsacked

I need to vent and opening this blog is my first step. I am a young professional and am currently in the process of "changing careers". It wasn't exactly planned to make this change, but it seems like my only alternative.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Finally the first makeup day!

  1. carlarenee45 says:

    a lot of people don’t want to believe that concept, usually the ones that have let themselves go or women that never felt pretty before. I believe it. I use to be a model and ate healthy, had beautiful skin, and the whole thing and life was totally different than how it is now for me lol. But it is how it is and all we can do is do like you. Take time to pretty up and it does help the ego. Nothing wrong with a woman stroking her ego. She’s usually the one who needs it. Men, no they don’t need their egos to big, they can’t handle it lol. I am glad this is working for you. Sounds like a fun job!

Leave a Reply

