Not what I expected…

I have a new found respect for those people who hand out pamphlets. It is exhausting work and can make you feel so insignificant. Today I thought I would have a fairly successful day handing out fliers for the local community theater. I never gave it much thought to the fact that handing out fliers entails a lot of rejection.

I got up feeling pretty good about myself from yesterdays positive response I expected similar results today. I got up and dressed like yesterday. I listened to my song and went on my merry way to hand out the fliers. Unfortunately today no matter how cheery I was I was only able to pass out 3 of my fliers. I smiled and tried my best to be as friendly and polite as possible, yet no one wanted the fliers. Most of the people who passed didn’t even turn to look at me. I by no means looked like a beggar or someone who would want to annoy them, but I was simply ignored. My self-esteem went away by the 20th time I was ignored.

To make matters worse I didn’t take into account that it today was Valentine’s Day! There was so many people walking around. Once I was out there I thought the lovey dovey mood people were in would mean more people would be willing to take a flier, even if they were just going to throw it away. However, I was wrong. I don’t know, I was so confident in the beginning, but after 4 hours of nothing I decided to pack it up. I was no longer confident so today I didn’t even try to cut in line. I knew that my mood would somehow affect the outcome.

Well I need to come up with a quick way of regaining my confidence for tomorrow. Tomorrow I will ask for extra samples or anything else that might come to mind and I will try to cut in line again.

-K

About justsacked

I need to vent and opening this blog is my first step. I am a young professional and am currently in the process of "changing careers". It wasn't exactly planned to make this change, but it seems like my only alternative.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

