A fairly good start :D

 

So it was actually a pretty good day today. I woke up at 8 am and had a delicious breakfast of sausage and eggs with homemade orange juice. Then I hopped in the shower to start my usual ‘grooming’. The only makeup I had on was a little foundation, mascara and natural tinted lip balm. I straightened my hair as usual so that it looks sleek and shiny.

My wardrobe was a bit of a hassle since I had neglected to do my laundry during the weekend 😛 . So I opted for something simple and classic, a black shirt with fitted jeans and grey oxfords (flats). When I was finally ready I grabbed a black button down sweater and headed for my first location, the local favorite coffee shop. I’ve read a blog about this particular coffee shop and knew that it would have a really long line in the morning. So I decided to try to ask a complete stranger if I could cut ahead of them. In retrospect I probably should have left the line cutting for the second or last event today. I arrived and was starting to second guess myself.

I didn’t want to inconvenience people, but I knew I HAD to continue my mission. To help me regain my courage I decided to pop in my favorite song… for fear of being judged on my choice of song I will refrain from mentioning it, just know that it is really old and not cool at all. However, this song always makes me feel great! After blasting my song twice I felt really (excuse the expression) ballsy! So I got out and put on my friendliest face. There were about 20 people waiting for their coffee. I told myself I would walk up to whoever was number 5 in line. As I walked up past the 18th person in line I swear I had a blank out. I don’t remember the other people I just kept counting down to 5.

Once I got in front of number five I flashed the best smile I could and politely asked if I could possible go infront of them. There was 8 seconds of silence and I think he was about to say no, so I started to blurt out a random reason why I should be infront of him. I honestly don’t remember what I said, but it vaguely sounded like I might lose a non-existing job if I didn’t return ASAP. And with that he was gracious enough to let me cut!

I was able to cut in line for my very delicious mocha latte! I felt great! I was smiling from ear to ear and that just gave me an extra dash of confidence. I took my coffee and drove to the nearest bookstore. I took some time to finish my drink and then went inside to grab all the books I desired. My plan was to drop them in front of whoever passed to see if anyone helped. I grabbed 3 mystery novels, 2 history books and 3 crafts books. I purposely made it hard for me to carry these books so that it would be believable. Every time I saw someone or a group of people heading my way regardless of who it was I would drop my books near them.

I am fairly happy to announce that after 12 ‘accidental drops’ of my books I was able to get help 6 times. A 50/50 result was pretty good for the day. I only stopped at 12 because there is only so many excuses you can use to drop your books in front of very helpful/annoyed employees. I felt them staring at me from the counter.

In all I feel pretty good about my day. Oddly enough I noticed that women were more likely to help me. Of the 6 times I had help 4 were women and 2 were men. What I found really interesting was that groups just stepped around me…hmm.

Anyways, now I need to prep for tomorrow’s adventure. I plan on handing out the pamphlets and cutting the line at a new location.

All the best,

K

About justsacked

I need to vent and opening this blog is my first step. I am a young professional and am currently in the process of "changing careers". It wasn't exactly planned to make this change, but it seems like my only alternative.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A fairly good start :D

  1. I have a favourite piece of music which I always play several times if I have a job interview or something I need to feel confident for – and it works. Good luck with your mission!

Leave a Reply

