Can this be true?…

 

I really can’t believe that what I heard is correct! In this century I thought human beings would be more evolved than this. I mean, you might think me naive for thinking this way, but when did it become okay to hire solely on looks? Here I am having a really nice dinner with my fellow ex-colleagues and here they start telling me how my replacement needs extra training to do my job and is making a mess out of a lot of her so called responsibilities.

I was making peace with the fact that I was solely replaced, but how can it be that I was replaced with someone who is less qualified than me? That doesn’t make any sense. From what I gathered she wasn’t related to anyone in the company and she wasn’t “openly” dating anyone. Apparently, she was a graduate of some community college in New York and has “worked” her way up to my old position, and yet everyone is complaining about her work. She seems to lack the basic skills for the position and tends to slack off. I just don’t get it!

To make matters worse some of my colleagues thought that I was replaced because I wasn’t the right “look” for the job! Once I got past the initial hidden insult (the fact that I wasn’t pretty enough for my post) I was more shocked at the fact that my boss went with a ‘beauty’ that had no basic requirements than with someone who had experience and what I thought was decent looking. Can this be real?! I mean this is not a movie….are looks more important in business than I had originally thought? Is life really that shallow?

I’m going to soak in a bath of my tears now… :’-(

About justsacked

I need to vent and opening this blog is my first step. I am a young professional and am currently in the process of "changing careers". It wasn't exactly planned to make this change, but it seems like my only alternative.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

