I definitely don’t get it…

I spent a good part of the day just staring up at the trees in my local park. Of course they weren’t as beautiful as the cherry blossom trees pictured above, but it was still relaxing none the less. I’m sure people that passed me by thought I was a lost homeless girl or at least easily amused. I don’t know how I got to this point. No, that isn’t true…I know how, but I don’t exactly know why. One day I am a recent grad with a bright future at a prestigious publishing firm and the next I am out on the hunt for another job. It’s not like my job was a victim of the terrible economy; the company is doing well and actually hiring more people as I type.

I was basically slowly demoted without notice. I was told that my duties weren’t as extensive as they were before and so I was going to get a cut in my paycheck. Now as a recent grad in a different city from my hometown, this was not okay. I had to think about my student loans, rent, car insurance, and other expenses. I wondered if it was because I wasn’t producing quality work and asked if the company wasn’t pleased with my performance. All I got out of them was that I was “great” and that they really hoped I would stay on for a possible “raise” later. At this point I felt undervalued, but still appreciated the fact that they had offered me a job in the first place. I stayed for a while, but the pay wasn’t getting better and no matter how much I cut back on the spending it was still hard for me to make ends meet. So I looked for another job and was lucky enough to find one where I was offered my original salary. I gave my two weeks notice and even had the pleasure of receiving a wonderful letter of recommendation for the new job.

I loved my new job! It was everything I hoped for in college. Sure it was an assistant job, but I hoped to prove myself for the dream promotion :D. I was so happy with the crazy hours and demanding work environment, but I guess I must have not given my all or something because the next thing I know I was asked to assist a new assistant who would later go on to replace me. I don’t blame the girl, if she was doing a better job then I am glad she is working there, but again I suffered a lose in my paycheck. Again I was forced to look for a new job.

I am not expecting anyone to read this and honestly, that might be for the best. However, I am trying to understand how I came to this situation. I don’t know, I guess I feel that if I write something in a blog it might somehow allow me to express myself with someone other than myself. I don’t want to spend to much time on here so I don’t expect to with perfect grammar. I will continue to search for my career and I hope that anyone who is reading this, that is also in a similar situation, will find their dream career as well.

All the best

K

About justsacked

I need to vent and opening this blog is my first step. I am a young professional and am currently in the process of "changing careers". It wasn't exactly planned to make this change, but it seems like my only alternative.
This entry was posted in Life Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I definitely don’t get it…

  1. Thanks for finding my blog, I shall keep reading yours. I think it’s good to vent when you need to – it is good therapy and helps you make sense of things. Thanks for your openness.

  2. J M Naszady says:

    Thanks for visiting my site! Try to stay positive, and don’t change yourself or give up…it’s a crazy world out there and you just need to believe that there is a place for you. Every experience helps you to grow, even the painful ones. You always take something with you!

  3. Try looking for a job without a degree. Apparently my life raising children, home schooling them (2 are in college on full scholarships right now) was worth nothing. I wrote about my own job struggle searches in my post For Hire (and lower). It is hard to feel any worth at all sometimes. I empathize. But you have youth and a degree. That is not nothing. Keep your chin up.

Leave a Reply

